Eight Ingredient Banana Snack Cake Recipe

26 Jun

Eight Ingredient Banana Snack Cake

I am presently packing my humble abode.  Several years ago my mother decided that she was going to go on a candlestick kick and that meant I was going to receive candlesticks I didn’t know I wanted for the next few gift giving holidays.  What does this have to do with a simple and delicious easy-peasy banana snack cake?  Nothing, but in my excitement in packing my kitchen for the home I am purchasing, I came across silver and glass candle holders, perched in their places on the fridge.  Soon I will move the gifts I now love into my new kitchen, and will have many stories to share in a space much more conducive to baking.

I digress.  This weekend my sous chef and I decided to bake a cake, as I am attempting to use up what I can so I do not have to move it.  In this epicurean story, the ingredient we are attempting to deplete is cake flour.  The banana snack cake recipe came to me from my friend Lori Pyle, who often makes it for potlucks we attend together.  The ingredients in this recipe are general staples one might have in the pantry.  I had most everything on hand, but interestingly, yes, we had no banana.  We trooped to the store and spent 60¢ on bananas.  Mr. Sous Chef mashed the banana without peeling it.  What a demonstration of Neanderthal behavior, but he did not dirty the masher, so a point for him.  He has proven he can provide for me in the wild.  However, he also jumped the gun and poured the water into the banana and sugar mixture before I could take another photo for our food audience, so a demerit for him.  We substituted cake flour equally for the all-purpose flour

Look down; peruse the ingredients .  Do you notice something about this recipe?  There is no animal fat!  That makes it vegan (aside from the chocolate chips I added, which you see in the picture).  If you have negative connotations, abandon them with this recipe.  Here, the vegan recipe is scrumptious and successful.  And if you have done the elementary math, you know that Mr. Sous Chef came out even. 

Our food audience will continue to get reports from my mediocre apartment galley kitchen until my candlesticks and I make our way into the much larger kitchen.  I wonder, will the oven there be 25 degrees off, too?

Banana Snack Cake

1 – 2/3 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup mashed ripe banana (about 1 small)

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Confectioners sugar

In a large bowl, combine flour and baking soda.  In another bowl, whisk the brown sugar, water, banana, oil and vanilla.  Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.  Transfer to a greased 8-in. square baking dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted near the middle comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.  Dust with confectioners sugar, if desired.  Cut into squares and serve. (Quick Cooking magazine, May/June 2004)

Leave a Reply

